Methods of Payment

Methods of Payment Accepted

The following methods of payment are accepted in the Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office (in person):

  • Cash
  • Local Check - Must reflect the name, local street address, home or business phone number, license plate number, and your financial institution's routing number/account number.
  • Money Orders
  • Certified Funds
  • Credit Cards - MasterCard, VISA, and Discover (No debit cards) A 2.35% ($1 minimum) fee is charged by a third-party vendor for all credit card transactions.

Mail/Drop Box

Payments may be mailed to the office or placed into drop boxes in the form of a local check or money order. We strongly recommend cash not be dropped or mailed.

Mailing Address:

Columbia County Tax Commissioner
P.O. Box 2330
Evans, GA 30809

Drop Box Location:

Evans Office
630 Ronald Reagan Drive
Evans, GA 30809

Checks should be made payable to the Columbia County Tax Commissioner.

Returned Check Policy

If your check is returned, it may be re-presented electronically. Service charges and processing fees, as permitted by state law, may be debited from the same account by paper draft or electronically.

A $30 returned check fee may be charged as allowed by state law. Additional fees may be incurred depending upon the method of restitution. Call the Columbia County Motor Vehicle Division at 706-868-6884 for additional information.

Internet Web Renewals

Payments can be made by Credit Card using a third-party vendor via the Internet. (Debit cards are not accepted).

Web renewal service fee: 2.35% (with a minimum of $1) charged for all web and telephone credit card transactions.

Inquiries please call 706-868-6884