The Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division has issued an updated Motor Vehicle Manual. This manual is detailed and addresses the State's requirements for titling and registering vehicles in the State of Georgia.
To view this manual online click "Motor Vehicle Online Manual".
Probated Last Will and Testament – Vehicle Titled in Georgia
In order for a Georgia certificate of title and registration to be issued on a vehicle titled in Georgia after inheritance where there is a probated Last Will and Testament, the following must be submitted to MVD or the County Tag Office where the applicant resides:
- Application - Completed Form MV-1 Tag and Title Application.
- Georgia Title - The Georgia title issued in the deceased person’s name should be submitted, if available. If the Georgia title was not issued in the deceased person’s name, the title must be submitted properly assigned to the deceased. If there is more than one Executor, only one Executor is required to sign the transfer document.
- Lien Release - Any lien or security interest shown on the title must be released in the spaces provided on the title or the lienholder or security interest holder must complete and submit Form T-4 Notice of Satisfaction of Security Interest or Lienholders Affidavit.
- Letters of Testamentary, Permanent Letters of Administration or Year’s Support - If the Year’s Support is submitted, the person granted the Year’s Support must title the vehicle in their name before transferring ownership. The Year’s Support must show a complete description of the vehicle (year model, make of vehicle and vehicle identification number).
- Bill of Sale - If the Executor of the estate is not applying for a title in their name; the title is not available; and an odometer declaration is not required, a signed bill of sale must be submitted from the Executor transferring the ownership of the vehicle to the applicant. If there is more than one Executor, only one Executor is required to sign the transfer document. Vehicles with a year model that is ten years old or more are exempt from the odometer declaration requirements.
Note: If the title is not available and an odometer declaration is required, the Executor of the estate must title the vehicle in their name first before selling or transferring ownership of the vehicle. If the vehicle is exempt from the odometer declaration requirements, the Executor is not required to title the vehicle in their name. In this situation, the Executor should either complete the title assignment on the reverse side of the title or submit a completed Form T-7 Bill of Sale.
- Emissions inspection (not required in Columbia County)
- Proof of Insurance, by one of the following:
• Filed by the insurance company directly in the Department’s database.
• Insurance binder showing insurance liability coverage.
- Fees - $18.00 title fee and $20.00 license plate fee. If the applicant purchased the vehicle from an estate, they must apply for a title in their name within 30 days of the purchase date or an additional $10.00 title penalty fee must be included in the payment. A title penalty fee for failure to apply for a title within 30 days does not apply to an inheritor making application for title. Columbia County accepts local checks, money orders, cash and credit cards.
- Taxes – Subject to Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT), Annual Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax, or Georgia Sales and Use Tax.