- The motorcycle/scooter must be manufactured for lawful highway use.
- The motorcycle/scooter must exceed 30 miles per hour on a level road surface.
- The motorcycle/scooter engine must be at least 50(cc) cubic centimeters.
- The motorcycle/scooter must have more than two (2) horsepower.
- The motorcycle/scooter must be insured.
When these conditions apply, the following documents and fees should be should be submitted to the Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office:
Tag/Title Application, Form MV-1 – The application must be completed in detail – typed, electronically completed, or legibly hand-printed in blue or black ink in the current owner(s)’ full legal name(s) reflecting their current address. The owner(s) or an authorized representative of the owner(s) must sign the title application. The authorized document (Power of Attorney) must be submitted if the application is signed by a representative. The full, legal name(s) of the owner(s), Georgia identification card number(s) or driver’s license number(s) and the name(s) of the issuing state/country are required for the first certificate of title.
Transfer Document – *The original manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO) issued with the required security features or the *out-of-state or Georgia title issued in the applicant(s)’ name(s) or properly assigned to the applicant(s) must be submitted. If the MSO shows where the motorcycle/scooter is an “all-terrain vehicle” a Georgia title will not be issued.
Form T-22B (Serial Plate Verification Form) – This form must be completed in full and signed verifying that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) certification label is affixed to the motorcycle/scooter certifying the motorcycle/scooter conforms to all applicable U.S. Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards in effect on the date of manufacture as shown on the label. The certification label is located near the steering post. The name of the manufacturer of the motorcycle/scooter and NHTSA decal number are required information.
Sample of Motorcycle Manufacturer’s Label (Suitable for the U.S. market)
MANUFACTURED BY: JOE’S MOTORCYCLES
GVWR 271 KG (598 LBS.)
GAWR FRONT 110 KG (243 LBS.) WITH M 120/70R18 TIRE, 18XMT3,00 RIM AT 250KPA(36PSI) COLD
GAWR REAR 161 KG (355 LBS ) WITH M 160/60617 TIRE, 17XMT4.00 RIM.AT 250KPA(36PSI) COLD
THIS VEHICLE CONFORMS TO ALL APPLICABLE USFEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARDS
IN EFFECT ON THE DATE OF MANUFACTURE SHOWN ABOVE
VIN: WMIXXXXXXXXXXXXXX TYPE: MOTORCYCLE
Form T-228, (Affidavit of Fact for a Motorcycle/Scooter)- *If the MSO or out-of-state title does not indicate the required conditions to title, Form T-228 must accompany the application indicating such conditions do apply in regard to the motorcycle or scooter that is to be titled.
This affidavit must be completed and signed by the vehicle owner(s).
Fees/Taxes – Pay all fees and taxes due with a check or money order payable to the Columbia County Tax Commissioner. The Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office also accepts cash and credit cards (VISA, MasterCard & Discover). The title fee is $18 if the title application is submitted within thirty (30) days of the purchase date. If a title is not applied for within thirty (30) days of the purchase date, a title penalty fee of $10 must be included in your payment.
Title Ad Valorem Tax – Effective March 1, 2013, any motor vehicle for which a title is issued shall be exempt from sales and use taxes and shall not be subject to the annual ad valorem tax. Any such motor vehicle shall be subject to a Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) based upon the fair market value of the vehicle. The title ad valorem tax shall be paid to the Columbia County Tax Commissioner at the time of titling and registration.
An owner who purchases a vehicle from an individual has thirty (30) days from the date the vehicle was purchased to apply for a title to avoid being charged a 10% TAVT penalty fee, with an additional 1% penalty every thirty (30) days thereafter.
For vehicles sold by a dealer, a penalty of 5% of the TAVT liability will be assessed for any application that is not submitted to the Motor Vehicle Office within thirty (30) days from the date of purchase. An additional 5% is assessed every subsequent month that the application for title and/or TAVT is late.