The Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division has issued an updated Motor Vehicle Manual. This manual is detailed and addresses the State's requirements for titling and registering vehicles in the State of Georgia.
To view this manual online click "Motor Vehicle Online Manual".
Probated Last Will and Testament – Vehicle Not Titled in Georgia
In order for a Georgia certificate of title and registration to be issued on an inherited vehicle where no Georgia title has been issued and there is a probated will, the following documents must be submitted to the County Tag Office where the applicant resides:
- Application - Completed Form MV-1 Tag and Title Application.
- Transfer Documents - The manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO) or out-of-state title must be submitted issued in the deceased person’s name or properly assigned to the deceased person.
- If the inheritor of the vehicle is not a resident of the State of Georgia, the inheritor must obtain a title in their name in their home state prior to the vehicle being sold or ownership transferred to a resident of Georgia.
- Lien Release - Any lien or security interest shown on the MSO or out-of-state title must be released or completed Form T-4 Notice of Satisfaction of Security Interest or Lienholders Affidavit must be submitted signed by the lienholder or security interest holder.
- Letters of Testamentary, Permanent Letters of Administration or Year’s Support - If a Year’s Support is submitted, the person granted the Year’s Support must title the vehicle in their name before transferring ownership. In addition, the Year’s Support must show a complete description of the vehicle (year model, make of vehicle, and vehicle identification number).
Notes: If the vehicle is exempt from the odometer declaration requirements, the Executor is not required to title the vehicle in their name. The Executor can complete the title assignment on the reverse side of the title or complete a Form T-7 Bill of Sale transferring the ownership of the vehicle to the buyers.
If the named Executor of the estate is deceased, Temporary Letters of Administration may be obtained. The person named as Executor in the Temporary Letters of Administration may apply for a title in the name of the estate only, by submitting a copy of Temporary Letters of Administration with the properly completed MV-1 application in the name of the estate, the title (if available) and the required fees/taxes (see below). The Temporary Executor may not sell the vehicle or transfer ownership of the vehicle without Permanent Letters of Administration.
- Emissions inspection (not required in Columbia County)
- Proof of Insurance, by one of the following:
• Filed by the insurance company directly in the Department’s database.
• Insurance binder showing insurance liability coverage.
- Fees - $18.00 title fee and $20.00 license plate fee. If the applicant purchased the vehicle from an estate, they must apply for a title in their name within 30 days of the transfer date or an additional $10.00 title penalty fee must be included in the payment. A title penalty fee for failure to apply for a title within 30 days does not apply to an inheritor making application for title. Columbia County accepts local checks, money orders, cash and credit cards.
- Taxes – Subject to Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT), Annual Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax, or Georgia Sales and Use Tax.