The Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division has issued an updated Motor Vehicle Manual. This manual is detailed and addresses the State's requirements for titling and registering vehicles in the State of Georgia.
To view this manual online click "Motor Vehicle Online Manual".
No Probated Will – Vehicle Titled in Georgia
The buyer of a motor vehicle, titled in Georgia, from an estate must apply for a Georgia title in their name within 30 days of the purchase of the vehicle. A $10.00 title penalty fee will be assessed for failure to apply for a title within this time frame.
In order for a Georgia certificate of title and registration to be issued on an inherited vehicle that is currently titled in Georgia, where the deceased left no will, the following must be submitted to the County Tag Office where the applicant resides:
- Application - Completed Form MV-1 Tag and Title Application.
- Georgia Certificate of Title – The Georgia title issued in the deceased person’s name must be submitted, if available. If the Georgia title was not issued in the deceased person’s name, the title must be submitted properly assigned to the deceased person.
- Letter from City or County Clerk’s Office - If the title for the vehicle was issued in a company’s name and the deceased was the sole owner; an affidavit to this effect must be obtained and submitted from the City or County Clerk’s Office where the company is located.
- Lien Release – Any liens or security interests shown on the Georgia title must be released in the spaces provided on the title, or Form T-4 Notice of Satisfaction of Security Interest or Lienholders Affidavit must be completed and signed by the lienholder or security interest holder.
- Affidavit of Inheritance – Completed Form T-20 Affidavit of Inheritance in the name of the inheritor, signed by the inheritor. If there is only one heir, a certified copy of No Administration Necessary may be submitted in lieu of the Form T-20 Affidavit of Inheritance.
- Death Certificate – A certified copy of the death certificate must be submitted anytime Form T-20 Affidavit of Inheritance is used.
- Emissions inspection (not required in Columbia County)
- Proof of Insurance, by one of the following:
- Filed by the insurance company directly in the Department’s database.
- Insurance binder showing insurance liability coverage.
- Fees – $18.00 title fee and $20.00 license plate fee. If the applicant purchased the vehicle from an estate, they must apply for a title in their name within 30 days of the purchase date or an additional $10.00 title penalty fee must be included in the payment. A title penalty fee for failure to apply for a title within 30 days does not apply to an inheritor making application for title. Columbia County accepts local checks, money orders, cash and credit cards.
- Taxes – Subject to Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT), Annual Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax, or Georgia Sales and Use Tax.
Note: If the inheritor of the vehicle is not a resident of Georgia, a title is required to be obtained in the inheritor’s name in their state of residency prior to selling or transferring the ownership of the vehicle.