Georgia Title Requirements
Vehicles Required To Be Titled
A Georgia Title is required for the following:
- 1986 and newer year model campers,
- 1986 and newer year model car/tow dollies weighing 2,001 lbs. or more,
- 1963 and newer year model manufactured homes,
- 1963 and newer year model mobile homes,
- 1986 and newer year model motorcycles,
- 1986 and newer year model motor vehicles, and,
- 1986 and newer year model travel trailers.
Vehicle Title Optional
You can title a 1963 – 1985 year model vehicle if:
- You have a title issued in your name,
- The owner on the front of the title has assigned the title to you, or
- The owner on the front of the title has assigned the title to a dealer and the dealer has assigned the title to you.
Note: A title will not be issued for a 1963 – 1985 year model vehicle if the vehicle has been registered in someone else’s name(s) other than the owner(s) shown on the face of the title.
Vehicle Title Not Required/Not Issued
A vehicle title is not required nor issued for the following vehicles:
- 1962 and older year model vehicles;
- Agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising equipment or vehicles that are not required to be registered;
- Airplanes, aircraft;
- All-terrain vehicles, off-road vehicles;
- Boat trailers;
- Boats, watercraft;
- Buses owned and operated by an urban transit system;
- Cable cars, trolleys;
- Driver education vehicles used in public or private schools;
- Fifth Wheels;
- Golf carts;
- Homemade tow (car) dollies weighing 2,000 lbs. or less;
- Homemade trailers;
- Invalid tricycles;
- Non-resident(s)’ vehicles (vehicles owned by people who do not have a Georgia address*);
- Pole trailers;
- Self-propelled wheelchairs;
- Tow dollies (car) weighing 2,000 lbs. or less;
- Trailers weighing 2,000 lbs. or less;
- Vehicles not manufactured for highway use.
* A title may be issued to an out-of-state resident in cases of inheritance or repossession when the vehicle is currently titled in Georgia. Also, if you moved out-of-state and your Georgia title is lost, stolen, or mutilates, a replacement title can be issued and mailed to you at your out-of-state address.
In order to properly register a non-titled vehicle, the owner of the vehicle is required to provide proof of ownership. Proof of ownership is established with:
- The Last Vehicle Registration
- Bill(s) of Sale
- Form T-22B, Serial Plate Verification Form
If the registration was not issued in the applicant’s name and there are no spaces for transferring ownership, an original, signed bill(s) of sale must be submitted establishing a complete and correct chain of ownership from the registered owner up to the current owner. An original Serial Plate Verification, Form T-22B completed and signed by a Georgia law enforcement officer after he/she makes a visual inspection of the vehicle’s identification number plate (a.k.a. serial number) must be submitted.
Any officer completing the Serial Plate Verification, Form T-22B, must query the G.C.I.C., Georgia Crime Information Center, to determine if the vehicle is stolen and he/she shall indicate that the query was made on the face of the T-22B form. This form will not be accepted if it is incomplete or contains alterations or erasures.