Georgia Title Replacement
Tag/Title Application, Form MV-1 – The application must be completed in detail – typed, electronically completed, or legibly hand-printed in blue or black ink in the current owner(s)’ full legal name(s) reflecting their current address. The owner(s) or an authorized representative of the owner(s) must sign the title application. The authorized document (Power of Attorney) must be submitted if the application is signed by a representative.
$8 fee is required when obtaining a replacement title that has been lost or stolen.
Georgia Title – When obtaining a replacement title for a vehicle where the original title has been mutilated, the mutilated title must accompany the application for a replacement title.
$18 fee is required for obtaining a replacement title when the original has been mutilated.
Note: If there is a change of ownership or when a lien or security interest is being added or deleted, the fee is $18, when accompanied by the title.
No fee is charged for titles lost in the mail if a replacement is applied for within sixty (60) days of the issue date of the lost title. A new MV-1, Title Applicationand a completed and signed T-216, Report of a Lost Title in the Mailform must be submitted to the Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office.
This option is only available when the title was mailed to the vehicle owner(s) and the owner(s) did not receive the title.
No Fee – There is no charge for titles issued in the name of a State or Federal Agency or for applications perfecting a child support lien. State and Federal agencies are required to pay title penalty fees for failure to apply for a title within thirty (30) days of purchasing or acquiring ownership of the vehicle and special handling fees.