Low Speed Vehicles
Low-speed vehicles are registered and titled if they meet the definition of Georgia law found in §40-1-1(25.1), as amended. A “low-speed vehicle” means any four-wheeled, electric vehicle whose top speed attainable in one mile is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface and which is manufactured in compliance with those federal motor vehicle safety standards for low speed vehicles set forth in 49 C.F.R. Section 571.500.
Tag/Title Application, Form MV-1 – The application must be completed in detail – typed, electronically completed, or legibly hand-printed in blue or black ink in the current owner(s)’ full legal name(s) showing their current address.
The owner(s)’ or an authorized representative of the owner(s) must sign the completed title application. An authorization document (power of attorney) must be submitted if signed by a representative.
The full legal name(s) of the vehicle owner(s), driver’s license number(s), Georgia identification card number(s) and the name(s) of the state/country issuing the driver’s license are required on the first application for a Georgia certificate of title.
Certificate of Origin – The certificate of origin (MSO) must reflect a 17-digit vehicle identification number (VIN), the federal regulation code (Title 49 C.F.R. Part 571.500) and must also indicate the vehicle is an electric low-speed vehicle. Possible indicator codes recorded on the certificate of origin are LSV, NEV, or ZEV.
The low-speed vehicle must have a manufacture date of June 17, 1998 or later.
Title Fee and Title Ad Valorem Tax – The $18 title fee and any applicable taxes may be paid by check, cash, money order or credit card to the Columbia County Tax Commissioner.
If the purchaser fails to apply for a title within thirty (30) days from the date of purchase, applicable fees must be included in the payment.
Temporary Registration – Current plate, if applicable, must be surrendered to the Motor Vehicle Office.
The Motor Vehicle Office will issue a thirty-day (30) temporary operating permit pending the issuance of a distinctive, low speed vehicle license plate.
Flashing Amber Light Permit – A permit for the flashing amber light is required before a thirty (30) day temporary operating permit or low-speed license plate is issued. The amber light permit must be renewed each year.
Insurance – The vehicle must be properly insured.
Fees/Taxes - $20 tag fee and applicable taxes.
Note: If a low-speed vehicle does not meet the legal and procedural requirements for tag and title, the vehicle cannot be legally operated on Georgia roads.