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Columbia County Tax Commissioner 

 
General Registration Information 

 
When can you Register your Vehicles? 

 

New Resident - You have 30 days from the date you move to this state to register your motor 

vehicle, tractor, motorcycle or trailer and get a Georgia license plate. Register your vehicle at the 

Tax Commissioner's tag office in the county where you live.  

 

Georgia Resident - You have seven days from the date of purchase or acquisition of a motor 

vehicle, tractor, motorcycle, or trailer to register and obtain a Georgia license plate or to transfer 

your existing valid Georgia license plate to your vehicle. You should register your vehicle at the 

Tax Commissioner's tag office in the county where you live.  

  

Penalties - If you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days of either establishing residency in 

this state or for Georgia residents, seven days from the purchase or acquisition date of the 

vehicle, you may be subject to fines up to $100.00 if law enforcement pulls you over. 

 

Where do you Register your Vehicle? 

 

Individual - The Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county in Georgia where you live. 

 

Vehicle Owned or Operated by a Business - The Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the 

county where the business is located. 

 

Leased Vehicle - The Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county where the lessee resides. 

Commercial Vehicles Traveling in Georgia Only - The Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the 

county where the vehicle is based.  

 

Motor Vehicle Dealers, Distributors, Manufacturers, and Transporters Tags - The Special 

Tags Unit of the Georgia Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division.  

 

Commercial Vehicles Registered under IRP - The IRP Unit of this Department's Motor 

Vehicle Division.  

 

What Fees could my Vehicle be Subject to? 

 

Your Vehicle may be subject to the following fees and taxes: 

 

http://dor.georgia.gov/contact-us-0
http://dor.georgia.gov/contact-us-0
http://dor.georgia.gov/commercial-vehicle-registration
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Annual Registration Fee: Varies 

MV Schedule of Tags and Fees to view the License Plates and Fees Schedule showing the 

different types of issued tags and the annual registration fee for each. 

 

Manufacturing and Annual Special Tag Fee: Varies 

Plate Samples to view the types of available special tags, the fees and requirements for obtaining. 

 

Mailing Fee: $1.00 

Mailing fee is due if your tag/renewal decal is to be mailed to you. Some counties require first 

time residents to register in-person. 

 

Ad Valorem Tax:  

This tax applies only to vehicles that are currently still under the Ad Valorem Tax system. Ad 

Valorem Tax is based on the vehicle's value and the millage rate of the levying authorities in 

your county.  

 

Title Ad Valorem Tax Fee: Varies  

Any vehicle purchased now or in the future is subject to a one-time Title Ad Valorem Tax at the 

time of purchase of the vehicle. This Title Tax is a percentage (2015 - 7.00%) of the Vehicle 

Value and will be a one-time fee. This tax replaces the yearly Ad Valorem Tax normally due at 

registration period of your vehicle.  The Title Ad Valorem Tax Calculator provides more 

information. 

 

Title Fee: $18.00 

If your vehicle is required to have a title in this state, you must apply for a title at the time of 

registration. Go to our Titles section to see if your vehicle requires a Georgia title. 

 

Title Penalty: $10.00 

Title penalty is due if you fail to apply for a Georgia title, when a title is required, within 30 days 

of the vehicle's purchase or acquisition date. This fee is not due when your vehicle is currently 

titled or registered out-of-state or country in your name. 

 

Title Ad Valorem Tax Fee Penalty 
The failure to apply for the Certificate of Title no later than 30 days after the date of purchase 

will cause additional Title Ad Valorem Tax Fee penalties in addition to other fees and 

penalties. The Title Ad Valorem Tax Calculator provides more information. 

 

Additional Title Penalty: $10.00 

Additional title penalty is due if you previously applied for a Georgia title and your application 

was returned requesting additional action before title issuance and compliance has not been made 

within 60 days of the accompanying letter's date. 

 

Note: Pay all fees and/or taxes due with cash, local check, or money order payable to the 

Columbia County Tax Commissioner. The Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office accepts 

MasterCard, VISA and Discover credit cards. Note: There is a $4 convenience fee due for each 

credit card transaction. 

  

http://dor.georgia.gov/documents/schedule-motor-vehicle-plates-and-fees
http://mvd.dor.ga.gov/motor/plates/PlateSelection.aspx
http://onlinemvd.dor.ga.gov/Tap/welcome.aspx
http://onlinemvd.dor.ga.gov/Tap/welcome.aspx
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What Vehicles are Exempt from Registration in Georgia? 

 

Vehicles Not Registered or Titled in Georgia - The State of Georgia does not register or title the 

following vehicles: 

 

 Mopeds 

 Motorized carts 

 All-terrain vehicles 

 Off-road vehicles 

 

Tractors and Trailers not registered in Georgia - The State of Georgia does not register the 

following vehicles: 

 

 A trailer weighing less than 3,500 pounds factory weight and used exclusively to haul 

agricultural products from one place on the farm to another or from one farm or field to 

another. 

 Farm trailers, with no springs, hauling unprocessed farm products to their first market 

destination and trailers that are pulled from a tongue and used primarily to transport fertilizer 

to the farm. 

 Any tractor or three-wheeled motorcycle used only for agricultural purposes.  

 

Car/Tow Dollies 

 

A 1985 and older year model car/tow dolly, a homemade car/tow dolly and a car/tow dolly 

weighing 2,000 pounds or less are required to be registered in Georgia but not titled in this state.  

 

 

Vehicles and Equipment Exempt from Registration in Georgia 

 

Any vehicle or equipment used for transporting cargo or containers between and within wharves, 

storage areas, or terminals within the facilities of any port under the jurisdiction of the Georgia 

Ports Authority when such vehicle or equipment is being operated upon any public road, not part 

of The Dwight D. Eisenhower System of Interstate and Defense Highways, by the owner or his 

or her agent within a radius of ten miles of the origin port facility and accompanied by an escort 

vehicle equipped with one or more operating amber flashing lights that are visible from a 

distance of 500 feet. 

 

 

Motor Vehicle "Owners" Exempt from Registration in Georgia 

 

Non-residents - Motor vehicles owned by non-residents* may be used and operated on the 

public streets and highways of this state for a period of 30 days without registering provided 

these vehicles are properly registered and visibly display valid license plates (tags) from the 

owner(s)’ home state. 
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Visitors - Motor vehicles owned by visitors** may be used and operated on the public streets 

and highways of this state, for pleasure purposes only, for a period of 90 days without registering 

provided these vehicles are properly registered and visibly display valid license plates from the 

owner(s)’ home state. 

 

Non-resident Military Personnel - As a non-resident military person stationed in 

Georgia pursuant to the military orders, you are not required to register your vehicle(s) in this 

state as long as your vehicle visibly displays a valid license plate from your home 

of record state.  

 

If you choose to register your vehicle(s) in Georgia, you must comply with all requirements of 

vehicle registration and apply at the Tax Commissioner's Tag Office in the county where you are 

stationed.  

 

To learn more view our Georgia’s Title and Registration Requirements. 

 

Non-resident Students - As a non-resident student attending a Georgia College or University, you 

are not required to register your vehicle(s) in this state as long as your vehicle visibly displays a 

valid license plate from your home state.  

 

If you choose to register your vehicle(s) in Georgia you must comply with all requirements of 

vehicle registration and apply at the Tax Commissioner's Tag Office in the county where you 

reside or attend school.  

 

To learn more view our Georgia’s Title and Registration Requirements. 

 

Definitions  

 

* Non-resident - any person who does not reside in the State of Georgia but who accepts 

employment or engages in any trade, profession, or occupation in this state or enters his or her 

children in the public schools of this state.  

 

** Visitor - any person who does not reside in the State of Georgia and who is not a non-resident 

as defined above. 

 

How do I Obtain a Serial Plate and License Plate for My Homemade Trailer? 

 

Homemade trailers are required to have a serial plate affixed before the trailer can be registered 

and a license plate (tag) issued. To obtain a serial plate for your homemade trailer, submit the 

signed and notarized Form T-23 Homemade Trailer Affidavit to the Tax Commissioner's Office 

in the county in Georgia where you live. 

 

The county agent will give you a Form T-22C and a serial plate for the homemade trailer. 

 

You must permanently affix the serial plate to your homemade trailer with rivets and have a 

Georgia Law Enforcement Officer complete the Form T-22C (Permission for County Assigned 

Serial Number Plate for a Homemade Trailer) certifying that the serial plate has been affixed to 

the trailer.  

http://dor.georgia.gov/registration
http://dor.georgia.gov/registration
http://dor.georgia.gov/documents/t-23-homemade-trailer-affidavit
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You should return the completed Form T-22C to your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Office 

for the issuance of a license plate and a registration certificate (tag receipt).  

 

The cost will be $12.00 (license plate fee) plus applicable Ad Valorem Tax. 

 

The number on the serial plate shall be used as the vehicle identification number (VIN) or serial 

number in any subsequent motor vehicle transactions.  

 

Georgia does not issue titles for homemade trailers. 

 

How do I Obtain a Refund of a License Plate Fee Paid in Error? 

 

A refund of the license plate fee is only allowed in three situations listed below. If you are 

authorized to receive a refund, please submit the items listed beneath the applicable situation to 

your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices.  

 

Refund of license plate fee is only allowed if: 

 

1. Erroneously purchased a license plate or renewal decal for a vehicle you no longer own. 

 

Submit to the County Tag Agent: 

 

 Tag/decal issued in error 

 Original owner's license plate registration certificate (tag receipt) 

 Affidavit from the person requesting the refund - signed with signatures notarized and 

including to whom sold and the date sold. 

 

2. Two tags issued for the same vehicle in the same owner's name. 

 

Submit to the County Tag Agent: 

 

 First tag/decal issued 

 Owner's original license plate registration certificate for the tag being returned 

 Photocopy of the license plate registration certificate for the tag being retained 

 

3. Improperly issued commercial tag rated in error by the Department's Motor Vehicle Division 

or your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Office. 

 

Submit to the County Tag Agent: 

 

 Improperly rated tag 

 Original owner's license plate registration certificate (tag receipt) 
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The Department's Motor Vehicle Division will not issue a refund check directly to the taxpayer if 

the fees were not originally received by the Department's Motor Vehicle Division but were 

received by their county Tax Commissioner's Tag Office.  

 

For information regarding refunds of IRP license plate fees, please contact the Department's IRP 

Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). 

 

In-Person Address 

IRP Unit Window 

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division 

4125 Welcome All Road 

Atlanta, Georgia 30349 

 

Mailing Address 

Attention: IRP Unit 

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division 

P.O. Box 740381 

Atlanta, GA 30374-0381 

 

Telephone and E-mail 

Phone: 855-406-5221 

E-mail: motorvehicleinquiry@dor.ga.gov 

 

What about Registration of Commercial Vehicles - Intrastate? 

 

Register your commercial vehicles that only travel in Georgia with the Tax Commissioner's Tag 

Office in the county in Georgia where your business is located. To learn more view 

our Georgia’s Title and Registration Requirements. 

https://www.google.com/maps/place/4125+Welcome+All+Rd,+Atlanta,+GA+30349/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x88f4e188300204a9:0xf5ad4626d6560eff?sa=X&ved=0CB4Q8gEwAGoVChMIjfqDrOraxgIVyT8-Ch2Zwwuz
https://www.google.com/maps/place/4125+Welcome+All+Rd,+Atlanta,+GA+30349/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x88f4e188300204a9:0xf5ad4626d6560eff?sa=X&ved=0CB4Q8gEwAGoVChMIjfqDrOraxgIVyT8-Ch2Zwwuz
tel:8554065221
mailto:motorvehicleinquiry@dor.ga.gov
http://dor.georgia.gov/registration

