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Out-of-State Title Transfer

To apply for a title for a vehicle previously titled in another state/country, the following
documents and fees must be submitted to the Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office.

Tag/Title Application, Form MV-1 — The application must be completed in detail — typed,
electronically completed, or legibly hand-printed in blue or black ink in the current owner(s)’ full
legal name(s) reflecting their current address. The owner(s) or an authorized representative of the
owner(s) must sign the title application. The authorized document (Power of Attorney) must be
submitted if the application is signed by a representative. The full, legal name(s) of the owner(s),
Georgia identification card number(s) or driver’s license number(s) and the name(s) of the
issuing state/country are required for the first certificate of title.

In order to perfect any lien or security interest in a vehicle, the name and address of the lien or
security interest holder must be recorded on the title application in the space provided.

If the vehicle was sold by a licensed Georgia dealer, the dealer must enter his/her signature and
the dealership’s current motor vehicle assigned Customer ID number in the spaces provided on
the title assignment. The 12-digit motor vehicle assigned Georgia Dealer Customer ID is
required on the application if it is not shown in the title assignment.

Transfer Document — The current out-of-state title issued in the applicant(s)’ name(s) or properly
assigned to the applicant(s) must be submitted.

If an out-of-state title is issued in more than one (1) owner’s name and the word “or” is used to
show joint ownership, only one (1) of the owners on the face of the out-of-state title has to
complete the title assignment transferring ownership to someone else. If an out-of-state title is
issued in more than one (1) owner’s name; the word “or” is used to show joint ownership; and
the title application is in one (1) of the owner’s names, the out-of-state title assignment does not
have to be completed. This applies only if no lien or security interest is recorded on the title.

All vehicle owners, other than licensed dealers, must obtain titles in their names before
transferring titles to another person, dealer or business. It is acceptable for a dealership to use a
secure dealer reassignment supplement form when there are still title assignments available.
Subsequent dealers may also go back to the title and use available assignments.

Note: If an applicant previously had his/her vehicle registered in another state/country and now
resides in Georgia but does not have the out-of-state title because it is being held by a lien or
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security interest holder; he/she must provide the out-of-state registration and a completed Form
T-17, Statement of Title held by Lien holder or Leasing Company.

Fees/Taxes — Pay all fees and taxes due with a check or money order payable to the Columbia
County Tax Commissioner. The Columbia County Motor Vehicle Office also accepts cash and
credit cards (VISA, MasterCard & Discover). The title fee is $18 if the title application is
submitted within thirty (30) days of the purchase date. If a title is not applied for within thirty
(30) days of the purchase date, a title penalty fee of $10 must be included in your payment.

Title Ad Valorem Tax — Effective March 1, 2013, any motor vehicle for which a title is issued
shall be exempt from sales and use taxes and shall not be subject to the annual ad valorem tax.
Any such motor vehicle shall be subject to a Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) based upon the fair
market value of the vehicle. The title ad valorem tax shall be paid to the Columbia County Tax
Commissioner at the time of titling and registration.

An owner who purchases a vehicle from an individual has thirty (30) days from the date the
vehicle was purchased to apply for a title to avoid being charged a 10% TAVT penalty fee, with
an additional 1% penalty every thirty (30) days thereafter.

For vehicles sold by a dealer, a penalty of 5% of the TAVT liability will be assessed for any
application that is not submitted to the Motor Vehicle Office within thirty (30) days

Note: If an owner moves to Georgia with an out-of-state title already in their name on the face of
the title, 50% of the TAVT is due at the time of title application. The remaining 50% is due to
the Motor Vehicle Office within twelve (12) months.

Georgia Sales and Use Tax (if applicable) — When applying for a title and license plate for a
vehicle that is exempt from Title Ad Valorem Tax and was purchased from an out-of-state dealer
or business, Georgia sales and use tax must be paid at the time of application; proof submitted
that the sales and use tax has already been paid or proof submitted that the applicant is exempt
from this tax. A Georgia title and license plate will not be issued until any Georgia sales and use
tax due is paid.

In Columbia County, sales and use tax due may be paid to the Georgia Department of Revenue
Office (DOR) located at 610 Ronald Reagan Drive, Evans, GA 30809. You may contact the
DOR office at (706) 651-7600 with any questions.
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